Thomas Jefferson Award

The Thomas Jefferson Award is given to honor an individual whose public service has embodied the Jeffersonian ideal. It is bestowed on those who have dedicated their careers to establishing and maintaining the ideal government, one that governs best because it governs least. It highlights the efforts of an individual who has demonstrated a desire to truly put the public interest first by providing, life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, for all. In making this award, APEE recognizes that the high ideals of our organization must be put into practice in the political arena and honors those individuals who do so.

Past Recipients

  • 2021 Álvaro Vargas Llosa
  • 2010 Penn & Teller
  • 2009 Mary Anastasia O’Grady
  • 2008 John Stossel
  • 2004 Michael Walker
  • 2003 Edward Crane
  • 2001 Douglas Ginsburg
  • 1998 The Honorable Phil and Wendy Gramm