Essay Contest

The Association of Private Enterprise Education, with support from the John Templeton Foundation, awarded full-time students 25 years and younger for their essays from 2005-2008 addressing various topics on the benefits of a free market economy.


2007 First Prize ($2500)
“Prosperity and the Freedom to Cooperate”
Brad Taylor, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Second Prize ($2000)
“What Causes Prosperity: The Estonian Example”
Emily Rose, Bethel College
Third Prize ($1500)
“Enabling Ethical Behavior Through Markets”
Gennady Stolyarov II, Hillsdale College
Top High-School Entry ($500)
“Ethical Ideas and Consequences”
Will Simpson, Homeschooled, Mountain View, Arkansas
Honorable Mentions ($250)
Ojo Adekunle B, United States International University, Nairobi, Kenya;
Chris Kuiper, Dordt College;
Vrinda Maheshwari, National Law School of India University;
Abigail Martin, Wheaton College;
Josef Mladek, University of Economics, Prague, Czech Republic;
Ryan Musser, Houghton College;
Joel Runyon, Bethel College;
Joseph W. Siler, The George Washington University;
Neville Tirimba, Masinde Muliro University of Agriculture and Technology, Kakamega, Kenya; and
Raluca Mihaela Ursu, Wesleyan College
2006 First Prize
“Freedom Works”
Mats Ekman, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Second Prize
“What Causes Prosperity: Some Evidence from Romania”
Andreea Mladin and Cristiana Neaga, Academy of Economic Studies in Bucharest, Romania
Third Prize
“Placing a Price on a Platypus”
Marianne Rodriguez, Hillsdale College
Honorable Mentions
Ian Townes, University of North Texas;
Michael Belinsky, Dartmouth College;
Andrew Balthrop, Georgia State University;
Joe Peterson, Bob Jones University;
Yao Xiaoxi, Tsinghua University;
Carl Shulman, New York University;
Erwin Dekker, London School of Economics;
Paul Riley, College of the Holy Cross;
Rachel Schwartz, University of Glasgow; and
Brendan Cooper, Carleton College
2005 Second Prize
“Greenbacks and a Greener World”
Matthew Baker, Bob Jones University
Third Prize
“Economic Prosperity- Is It Possible for One of Soviet Union’s Former Satellites?”
Dilyana Doycheva, University of Richmond
Honorable Mentions
Lisa Abraham, Western Reserve Academy;
Nadine Abraham, Wellesley College;
Angelica Rocha Guevara, University Francisco Marroquin;
Nikki Macor, University of Adelaide;
Kyle Ryan, Washington State University;
Kathryn Sandstrom, Towson University;
Joel Sawyer, Houghton College; and
Evangeline Wandag, Cagayan State University-Carig Campus